Engineer of Freedom Award

How many FORR® members do you know the really exemplify the spirit of freedom? The member who has belonged for so many years, no one can keep track. The member who, when the call went out for a work session or a shift at an event, has always been there. The member, who has held every office in a Local and has been in one or the other as long as anyone can remember or the member who has jumped in there and helped to spark a Local to success, seemingly overnight. We all know these members, we see them every time there’s a Local or CC meeting, or we go to an event and it’s their smiling face that greets us and signs us in. And now there’s a way to recognize those special members who have made up the heart and soul of Freedom of Road Riders®, the “Engineer of Freedom” Award.

Q. Who may receive the “Engineer of Freedom” award?
A. Any member in good standing of Freedom of Road Riders®.

Q. How can a member be nominated for the “Engineer of Freedom” award?
A.  Any member or Local may nominate a member for this award. Simply write a letter to the Central Committee Cabinet of FORR® outlining the contributions of the nominee to the cause of freedom and mail it or e-mail to the FORR Corporate Secretary,
Marla Wallace
6818 Frasher Dr
Jefferson City , MO. 65109-9620
or secretary@forr.net

Q. How are nominees selected as an “Engineer of Freedom”?
A. The FORR® CC Cabinet will review the nominations at the officer’s meeting the night before each Central Committee meeting. Only the contributions of the nominee will be considered; the name will not be divulged to any officer besides the Corporate Secretary. The recipient(s) will be announced at the CC meeting the day following their selection. Nominations for those who are not selected will be reviewed again at the next meeting.

Q. What does the recipient get for being selected as an “Engineer of Freedom”?
A. Recipients will receive a red, white and blue “Engineer of Freedom” patch (which will be one of the rarest patches around FORR®) and their names will be listed on the roll of “Engineers” maintained by the Central Committee and published in the Freedom Press.

Engineers will serve FORR® by passing on an example of the dedication that has led FORR® to the triumphs of the last 30 years. We owe it to those members (you know who they are!) who have helped to make this the biggest and best motorcyclist rights organization in Missouri, and one of the most successful in the nation. So, think about the special people that YOU know, and let’s start nominating those “Engineers” who have helped to drive this Freedom Train.

Recipients Of The “Engineer Of Freedom Award”
2000 May Louise Reasoner / Ed “Smokey”Strodtman / Darrell Swinger
July Mike Sloan
September Larry “Indy”Barnhart
November Steve Barbey
2001 January Adam Brown
March Dallas Chapman
May Brian Lundy
July None
September Jim Enloe
November Mike “Animal” McPeek
2002 January Sandy “Sunshine”Hoffman
March Daniel “Fergy” Ferguson
May Shari Cullimore
July Mark Chapman
September Sam Schindler
November Steve “Tanker” King
2003 January Linda “Pinky” Jackson
March Linda Hawkins
May Kathy Steinhauser
July Doug Weiss
September None
November Sue Boone / Tony Shepherd
2004 January Mike Hellman
March Wayne “Tip” Tipton
May Charlie Pilcher
July Sally Schwaner
September Gordon Becton
November Jim Duyck
2005 January JR DeGraffenreid / Rose Tipton / John Stouffer
March Darell Chavis / Susan Chavis / Sam King
May Bob Reasoner
July Dave Roark
September Nick Swope Mike “Taz” Moeller
November Terry “Klon” Smith
2006 January Randy Adkison
March John “Superglide” Lisby / Carol Roark
May Alice Speiser (posthumously )
July None
September Dan Coffey
November Doug Clawson
2007 January Darrel Wray / Robert Reif, Jr.
March Richard “Chief” Engle
May Gred “Halfbreed” Mullanix
July Sandy Bates
September Bob Hawkins
November Chad Coffelt
2008 January Debbie Mullanix
March Dan Harmon / Jay Haas
May Deanna Norris
July Bob Neal / Phil Speiser (posthumously ))
September Joe Kempker
November None
2009 January Lisa Becton
March Martin King
May Tracy Davis
July Jim Cross
September None
November None
2010 January Jim Scheele / Larry Wheeler
March Sir Robert Young
May Scott Fennewald
September Roy Brown / Dale Thomas
November Don Brown / Mindy Reif
2011 January Mark “Sparky”Capps
March Bill Kempker
May Steve “Staples” Comeau
July Randy Stovall
September Curtiss Moore
November Randy “Knobber” Garrison
2012 January Katherine Cashell
March Shelly Payne / Kevin Kohler
May B. L. McDonnell
July Steve Gallus
September Kathy Rice
November Bill “Treetop” Duncan / Randy Farris
2013 January (None Awarded)
March Ronda Felts
May Debra John
July Roy “Cowboy” Hoard
September Randy Nations
November Les Morris / Cindy Morris
2014 January Terry Lee Cook / Diana Holguin
March Amy Allmon
May Georgia Haley (posthumous)
July Keifer York
September Tom “Cutter” Cutsinger
November Alma Halbert
2015 January Denise Taylor
March Glenda Ely
May Mary Reeves / Robin “Newbee” Brown
July Mark Roloff / Deanna Seymour
September Kenny “Ditch” Williams / Carl Hammond
November Layne Shady  / Raymond Palmer
2016 January Paul Jones
March John Tiffany
May Donna Duyck
July Ken Lewis / Kerri Lewis
September Steve Burrow
November Mark Brown
2017 January Bill Gimse
March Dean Singleton
May Smokin’ Joe Widmer
July Donna Hilburn
September Bill “MaddDawg” Thornhill
November Terry Cobb


Freedom of the Road Riders is a Not-For-Profit Motorcyclist Rights Organization